Carlton Books launches four-volume series: The Second World War Experience

November 20, 2008

Following the spectacular international sales successes of The D-Day and Victory in Europe Experiences, Carlton Books is launching the biggest publishing venture in its history: The Second World War Experience. This four-volume series, published in association with the Imperial War Museum, covers the whole six-year global conflagration, from the build-up to war and German blitzkrieg against Poland to the surrender of Japan following the devastation of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

The books, written by leading Second World War historian Professor Richard Overy, cover all the key battles, personalities and events of World War Two. They are being published at intervals over one year, beginning this September and ending on the 70th anniversary of the start of the Second World War in September 2009. Carlton will also be publishing a deluxe-boxed set containing all four books at the same times as the final volume is issue.

To celebrate the launch of this series, we have two copies of the second volume – Axis Ascendant 1941-1942 – to give away. To be in with a chance, all you need to do is answer the following question:

How many books has author Richard Overy written for this series?

Please email entries to:, or post to: WWII competition, Times Higher Education, 26 Red Lion Square, London WC1R 4HQ.

The deadline for entires is 31 January 2009.

  • To find out more about the series, as well as possible clues, visit the website:

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns