January 2, 1998

The Beacon Awards Programme

The following colleges received awards for their educational programmes for 1997/98 at the Association of Colleges conference in Harrogate: Aon Award for Adult Lifetime Learning: Richmond upon Thames College (highly commended: Clarendon College and Park Lane College) The BBC Education Award for Technology to Enhance Learning: Pontypridd College (highly commended: Plymouth College of FE and Waltham Forest College)

The Basic Skills Agency Award for Basic Skills: Pontypridd College (runner-up: South East Essex College) The BT Award for Distance Learning: Park Lane College The Burke Ford Award for Health and Community Care: Accrington and Rossendale College (highly commended: Woolwich College) The City and Guilds Award for Hospitality and Catering: Westminster College The City and Guilds Award for Land-based Industries: Halton College The Duke of Edinburgh's Award/Community Action Award: Gateshead College (highly commended: Glasgow College of Building and Printing) The Edexcell Foundation Award for Art and Design: Newham Sixth Form College (highly commended: South East Essex College)

The ELS Award for the Humanities: highly commended - Halton College The EMTA Award for Modern Apprenticeships in Engineering: Barnsley College (highly commended St Helens College) The FEDA Award for Employer Partnerships: Plymouth College of FE (highly commended: Cornwall College and Halton College) The FEDA Award for Staff Development in ILT: Llandrillo College The Kidsons Impey Award for Finance and Business Teaching: Halton College The Marks and Spencer Award for Transferable Skills: New College, Swindon (highly commended: Newcastle College)

The NCET Award for IT to Support Effective Learning: Pontypridd College (highly commended: Park Lane College and Swansea College) The Partnership Trust Award for Chemistry and Physics: Halton College The Partnership Trust Award for Combined or General Science: Dewsbury College

The Post Office Award for Inclusive Learning: Clarendon College (highly commended: Oaklands College and Warrington Collegiate Institute) The RSA Award for Business Management: Tameside College of Technology The TES/AoC Award for Widening Participation: Dearne Valley College (highly commended: Waltham Forest College) The United Biscuits Award for Work Related Applied Education: East Surrey College (highly commended: Waltham Forest College).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments