...As Conservatives made way for Labour

May 23, 1997

None of the education and employment committee's seven Conservatives survived the election. Six were defeated: chair Malcolm Thornton (Crosby), Michael Brown (Cleethorpes), Harry Greenway (Ealing North), David Nicholson (Taunton), Graham Riddick (Colne Valley) and David Porter (Waveney). The seventh, Ralph Howell, did not stand again in Norfolk North. All five Labour pre-election members - Margaret Hodge (Barking), David Jamieson (Plymouth Devonport), Eddie O'Hara (Knowsley South), Gerry Steinberg (City of Durham) and Ernie Ross (Dundee West) - have returned to the Commons together with the Liberal Democrat Don Foster (Bath).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments