Honorary degrees

August 23, 1996

NEWMAN COLLEGE OF HIGHER EDUCATION DD: Maurice Couve de Murville, archbishop of Birmingham, for his contribution to Catholic education and, in particular, the college.

LOUGHBOROUGH UNIVERSITY DLitt: Felicity Lott, soprano and principal with the English National Opera, Glyndebourne, Welsh National Opera, Scottish Opera and Covent Garden.

DSc: Javid Aziz, senior vice president of Silicon Graphics (Europe) former IBM UK chief executive; David Rhind, director general and chief executive of Ordnance Survey of Great Britain; Roger Bannister, consultant neurologist, athlete and founding chairman of the Sports Council.

DTech: Keith Green, chartered civil and structural engineer, pro-chancellor and member of the university's council; Geoffrey Wilde, Rolls Royce design consultant, visiting professor in aeronautical and automotive engineering and transport studies; MA: Mervyn Walters, retired solicitor.

UNIVERSITY OF SALFORD DLitt: Robert Hough, chairman of the Manchester Ship Canal Company and deputy chairman of Peel Holdings plc; Martin Bangemann, European commissioner and member of European foreign affairs and cultural organisations; John Monks, general secretary of the Trades Union Congress; Felicity Goodey, broadcaster and champion of the Lowry Centre project; David Marquand, former professor of politics and contemporary history at the university and currently professor at Sheffield University; Judith Marquand, director of the centre for training policy research; Beatrix Campbell, journalist, broadcaster and author; Terence Thomas, managing director of the Co-operative Bank and chairman of North West Partnerships.

DSc: Walter Bodmer, director-general of the Imperial Cancer Research Fund who was installed as chancellor of the university during the honorary degree cermonies; Miles Irving, surgeon at Hope Hospital, Salford; Leslie Turnberg, president of the Royal College of Physicians and honorary consultant physician, Salford Health Authority; Colin Webb, chairman of Oxford Lasers and head of the atomic and laser physics department at the University of Oxford; MA: Alex Ferguson, manager of Manchester United; Joan Lestor, MP for Eccles and former shadow minister for overseas development; Henri Strzelecki, chairman of Henri-Lloyd Ltd; Bill Hinds, leader of Salford County Council and trustee of the Lowry Centre.

MSc: William Baker, former chairman of Salford University Convocation and a member of the council since 1989.

NOTTINGHAM TRENT UNIVERSITY DDes: George Davies, designer and entrepreneur, founder of Next stores, fashion and textile retailer.

DLitt: Lesley Abdela, equal opportunities campaigner, journalist and researcher; John Maddox, former editor of Nature.

DTech: John Knill, director of Donaldson Associates Ltd and former chairman and chief executive of the Natural Environment Research Council.

LLD: Herschel Prins, visiting professor in clinical criminology at Nottingham Trust.

MA: Margaret Humphreys, founder and director of the Child Migrants Trust; John Williams, former chief executive of Nottinghamshire Local Medical Committee.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs