Honorary degrees

February 17, 1995

UNIVERSITY OF GLASGOW. DEng: Evelyn Hu, professor of electrical and computer engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara; Alistair Macfarlane, principal and vice chancellor of Heriot-Watt University; Ronald Scott, professor of civil engineering at the California Institute of Technology.

DLitt: Maya Angelou, poet, civil rights worker; Phyllis James (aka P. D. James) author.

DSc: Bridget Ogilvie, director of the Wellcome Trust.

LLD: Winifred Ewing, member of the European Parliament, chair of Christian Aid and Her Majesty's commissioner to the General Assembly of the church of Scotland; Bruce Millan, member of the Commission of the European Communities, Alan Rodger, Lord Advocate; Simone Veil, minister of social affairs, France.


DLitt: Leszek Balcerowicz, Polish economist and politician; Sybil Marshall, author and educationist.

DMus: Laszlo Istvan Heltay, director of the Brighton Festival Chorus and former musical director at the Gardner Centre of the university.


DLitt: E. A. J. (Eddie) George, governor of the Bank of England.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs