Honorary degrees

December 8, 1995

QUEEN MARGARET COLLEGE, EDINBURGH. Leslie Rodger, author, marketing expert and former chairman of the college's governing body; Lisbeth Hockey, former member of the governing body and an expert in nursing research; Graham Bowie, former chief executive of Lothian Regional Council.

UNIVERSITY OF ABERDEEN. At a special graduation ceremony to mark the University's Quincentenary, Honorary LLDs were bestowed on: Miguel Martinez, president of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe; Andrew Rutherford, vice chancellor of the University of London and former senior vice principal of the university; Heinrich Seidel, president of the University of Hannover.

UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST OF ENGLAND. Doctor of Art: Peter Thursby, president of the Royal West of England Academy Doctor of Design: Peter Lord and David Sproxton, animators and founders of Aardman Animations.

Doctor of Letters: Ursula Fanthorpe, poet; Neil Cosson, industrial archaeologist and director of the Science Museum Doctor of Science: Kenneth Goulding, professor of biochemistry and deputy vice chancellor (academic) of Middlesex University Honorary fellowship: Trevor Green, former head of science and associate director of Bristol Polytechnic.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams.

For further information see also NetGazette on thesis@newsint.co.uk.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments