Honorary degrees

September 15, 1995


Honorary fellowship: Stephanie Yearnshaw, commander of the South Tyneside Area, Northumbria police; William Dunlop, chief fire officer of Tyne and Wear Metropolitan Fire Brigade; Joan Harrison, chairman of the Amateur Swimming Association's education monitoring and development committee and chairman of the Northern Council for Sport and Recreation.

DBA: Peter Vardy, chairman of Reg Vardy plc; Mike Clasper, regional vice president of Proctor and Gamble Europe DLitt: James McFarlane, emeritus professor of European literature at the University of East Anglia and managing editor of Norvik Press.

LLD: George Russell, chairman of the Northern Development Company; Elspeth Howe, chairman of the BOC Foundation for the Environment and president of the UK committee of Unicef; Joe Mills, chairman of Priority Healthcare Wearside.


The title of honorary doctor of technology has been awarded to Andreas Patsalides, founder of the PA College in Larnaca, Cyprus.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments