Honorary degrees

September 22, 1995

OXFORD BROOKES UNIVERSITY DSc: Julia Neuberger, rabbi and chair of Camden and Islington Community Health Services NHS Trust; David Weatherall, Regius professor of medicine at the University of Oxford; Ruth Campion, head of the school of health care studies at Oxford Brookes (1987/95).

DA: Ashley Ponsonby, lord-lieutenant of Oxfordshire; Paul Oliver, author, lecturer and broadcaster.

DBA: Patrick Roper, director of the Millennium Tree Line Project and chairman of Archmain Ltd; John Neill, group chief executive of Unipart Group of Companies.

LLD: Stephen Tumim, HM chief inspector of prisons.

DLitt: Lucy Faithfull, chairman of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Children and president of the National Children's Bureau; Carmen Callil, founder of Virago Press and managing director of Chatto & Windus; John Hanson, director general of the British Council.

MANCHESTER METROPOLITAN UNIVERSITY DA: Robert Hopper, director of the Henry Moore Sculpture Trust.

DBA: David Sainsbury, chairman and chief executive of J Sainsbury plc.

LLD: Harry Woolf, lord of appeal in ordinary.

Honorary fellowship: Ronald Yeo, former secretary and clerk to the university's board of governors.

MSc: June Maelzer, training officer, Manchester City Council.

For further information see also NetGazette on gopher:times.higher. news.int.co.uk.or http://www.newsint. co.uk.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs

Senior Lecturer in Community Nursing

University Of Greenwich

Social Science Tutor

Kings College London

Lecturer/Assistant Professor (BDIC)

University College Dublin (ucd)

Maths and Statistics Help Adviser

University Of Lincoln