Honorary degrees

May 24, 1996

THE University of Wales.

LLD: Brian Clarkson, principal of University College, Swansea (1982-94) vice chancellor of the University of Wales (1987-89), chairman of the British Council engineering and technology advisory committee; Herbert Duthie, provost of the University of Wales College of Medicine (1979-94), president of the Surgical Research Society (1978-90) and the Association of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland (1989-90), and member of the General Medical Council; Gwilym Prys-Davies, opposition spokesman on health (1983-89), Northern Ireland (1985-93), legal affairs (1990-92), member of House of Lords select committees, vice-president of Coleg Harlech; Manfred Rommel, lord mayor and chief executive of Stuttgart since 1975, former president, deputy president and vice-president of DST (committee of local government association); Helen Suzman, former lecturer in economic history and MP for Houghton, South Africa, president of the South African Institute of Race Relations (1991-93).

DLitt: John Elwyn, painter, gold medalist of the Royal National Eisteddford, member of the Cambrian Academy and member of the Gorsedd of Bards; Ezzeddin Ibrahim Mustafa, former professor of Arabic literature, cultural adviser to the president of the United Arab Emirates, delegated member and director general of the Zayed bin Sultan al Nahayan Charitable and Humanitarian Foundation, former vice chancellor of the University of the United Arab Emirates.

DSc: Terence Matthews, co-founder of Mitel Corporation, founder Newbridge Networks Corporation, fellow of the Institution of Electrical Engineers.

DMus: TAdaaki Otaka, conductor laureate of the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, chief conductor of the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony and Sapporo Symphony Orchestras, conductor laureate of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales; Brynley Roberts, librarian of the National Library of Wales (1985-94), former president of the Welsh Library Association, honorary fellow of the Library Association and fellow of the Society of Antiquaries; Stewart Sutherland, principal and vice chancellor of the University of Edinburgh.

MA: Ifor Rees, Congregational minister, author and former television and radio presenter, member of the Gorsedd of Bards; D. Hugh Thomas, chairman of the Residuary Body for Wales and chairman of Morgannwg Health Authority, honorary secretary to the court of the Royal National Eisteddfod since 1975; Glyn Thomas, secretary and organiser of extra-mural classes for University College, Bangor, former chairman of North Wales District of the Workers Educational Association and a member of the council and executive committee of Coleg Harlech.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments