Honorary degrees

July 4, 1997

University of East Anglia

LittD: Elizabeth Esteve-Coll, vice chancellor of the university since 1995; John Fowles, author of The Magus and The Collector who has lectured on several occasions in the university's school of English and American studies; Sir Louis Blom-Cooper, Queen's Counsel, chair of committees and public inquiries into major areas of social concern; Mrinalini Sarabhai and Mallika Sarabhai, co-directors of the Darpana Academy for Performing Arts; Hussein Kamel Bahaa El-Din, Egyptian minister of education; Damaso de Lario, minister for cultural affairs, Spanish Embassy in London; Peter Lasko, UEA's first professor of art history.

LLD: Johan Steyn, lord of appeal in ordinary.

ScD: Roger Bannister, former athlete and leading sports administrator; Reinhard Selten, Nobel laureate for economics in 1994; Roy Anderson, head of zoology at Oxford University; Bert Bolin, professor of meteorology at Stockholm University, former chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change; Julian Hunt, chief executive of the Meteorological Office; George Gray, emeritus professor of chemistry, University of Hull.

MA: Martin Bell, MP and former war correspondent with the BBC; Jean Kennedy, county archivisit at Norfolk Record Office; Ian Emmerson, director of Maddermarket from 1958-1989, one of the first directors at the Playhouse Theatre.

University of Hull

DLitt: Anthony Minghella, Oscar and BAFTA award-winning film director, former lecturer in the department of drama at the university.

University of Keele

DLitt: John Vereker, principal secretary at the Ministry of Overseas Development, private secretary to successive ministers and assistant secretary (1972), chairman of the Students Loans Company (1989-91) DSc: Yves Petroff, director general of the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Grenoble, former research physicist at the University of California in Berkeley.

LLD: Arnold Weinstock, managing director of GEC (1963-96), director of the Friends of the Ravenna Festival, trustee of the British Museum and member of the Royal Philharmonic Society Foundation Fund. He is an officer of the Legion d'Honneur of France and a commendatore nell'Ordine al Merito of Italy.

MMus: May Walley, founder conductor of Stoke-on-Trent Bedford Singers, former music teacher at Newcastle High School and founder of the Penkhull Music Festival.

University College London

DLitt: Richard Rogers, architect, deputy chairman of the Arts Council; Michel Tournier, contemporary writer.

DSc: Mamphela Ramphele, vice chancellor of the University of Cape Town, chairperson of the board of trustees of the Independent Development Trust, member of the Anglo American Corporation and Transnet; Lloyd Old, clinical scientist in the field of cancer immunology and chief executive of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further information see NetGazette on http://thesis.newsint.co.uk

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments