Honorary degrees

August 8, 1997

Queen's University, Belfast. The following honorary degrees have been awarded.

DSc: Erwin Gabathuler, Sir James Chadwick professor of experimental physics, visiting scientist at Cern (1991-92), fellow of the Royal Society, winner of the Institute of Physics Rutherford Medal and Prize.

DSc(Econ): Edmund Kelly, president and chief operating officer of Liberty Mutual, member of the Ireland-America Economic Advisory Board.

DSc(Educ): William Taylor, visiting professor of education at the University of Oxford, vice chancellor of the University of Hull (1985-91) chairman of the Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (1984-93).

DSc(Eng): Michael West, former managing director of GKN Keller, founder of the Keller Group.

LLD: James Abercorn, duke, director of the Northern Bank, chairman of the Laganside Development Corporation (1989-96), president of the Royal UK Beneficent Association, patron of the Royal Ulster Agricultural Society, trustee of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust; George Mitchell, lawyer, United States senator, Democratic senator for Maine, chairman of the Independent Commission on the Decommissioning of Weapons and chairman of the Stormont talks.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments