Honorary degrees

May 23, 1997

University of Brighton

DSc: Chris Boardman, cycling champion, in recognition of his contribution to the sports science research carried out at the university's Chelsea School, Eastbourne.

University of Teesside

DSc: Michael Longfield, the university's first vice chancellor and former director of Teesside Polytechnic.

LLM: Brian Worthy, former county education officer for Cleveland.

MA: Tom Robinson, musician and member of the Flying Pickets; members of the Brodsky String Quartet Michael Thomas, violinist; Ian Belton, violinist; Jackie Thomas, cellist; Paul Cassidy, violinist.

MSc: Fred Harker, former chairman of Harkers Engineering.

University of the West of England

DEng: Robert Hawley, chief executive of British Energy plc, in recognition of his contribution to engineering, particularly its promotion as a career for women and young people.

University of East London

DLitt: Isabel Menzies-Lyth, social scientist and psychoanalyst.

LLD: Helena Kennedy, Queen's Counsel.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further information see NetGazette http://thesis.newsint.co.uk

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments