September 26, 1997

King's College, London

Charities Dr M. Irving, Pounds 173,257 from the Wellcome Trust (coupling between force production and ATP utilisation in skeletal muscle); Professor P. Jenner, Pounds 44,765 from the Parkinson's Disease Society (investigation of the mechanism underlying the long duration action of L-dopa); Dr G. Mann, Pounds 84,516 from Tommy's Campaign (dysfunction of human vascular endothelium and smooth muscle in pre-eclampsia: modulation of cell signalling by lipid oxidation products); Dr M. Sanderson, Pounds 154,824 from the Wellcome Trust (structural studies on viral and human thymidine kinases and related viral phosphorylating enzymes); Professor J. Black and Dr N. Shankley, Pounds 34,470 from the James Black Foundation (pharmacological analysis of the expression of agonist efficacy at cardiac B2-adrenoceptors); Professor C. Swift, Pounds ,638 from the Research Strategy Fund (contribution to expenses); Professor M. Kemeny, Pounds 93,734 from the Wellcome Trust (mechanism of CD8+ T cell mediated IgE regulation); Ms G. Clack, Pounds 39,626 from various charities (attrition in medicine and the role that individual differences, including personality and motivation may play in this phenomenon); Professor A. Amiel, $50,000 from the Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International (hepatic counterregulation to hypoglycaemia: the role of liver innervation in glucose sensing and counterregulation); Drs P. Donohoe and A. James, Pounds 133,404 from the British Heart Foundation (cardiac myocyte ion currents in a model of renal failure).

Research contracts Dr C. Mahadevan, $33,681 from the Human Frontier Science Programme (biology and biochemistry of LIF-R/gp130 organisation cytokine receptors); Ms L. Johnson, Pounds 45,548 from the Department of Health (research training award for therapists); Dr V. Thomas, Pounds 77,992 from NHS Executive - South Thames r&d directorate (cognitive therapy for management of sickle cell disease pain); Dr A. Drake, Pounds 119,566 from Department of Trade and Industry and Applied Photophysics Ltd (teaching company scheme); Dr N. Kerkar and Professor G. Mieli-Vergani, Pounds 65,441 from the Royal College of Physicians (children nationwide paediatric research fellowship); Mr J. Foster and Professor T. Peters, Pounds 73,807 from NHS Executive - South Thames (quality of life as an outcome variable in the treatment of alcohol related problems - a comparison of five treatment centres); Dr S. Dunne and Mr R. Abraham, Pounds 21,036 from Oral B (Gillette and Southern Dental Industries Ltd.) (clinical evaluation of a gallium restorative material); Professor N. Smith, Pounds 120,000 from the University of London (contribution to cost of developing and maintaining an MSc in clinical dentistry course); Miss W. Dodds and Dr P. Watkins, Pounds 70,251 from NHS Executive - South Thames (is the large-scale foot pressure screening of diabetic patients an effective and practical way to prevent foot ulceration?); Dr H. Atherton, Pounds 46,338 from the Department of Health (perception and reported use of inhaled steroids in primary care); Dr S. Jackson, Pounds 49,777 from the NHS Executive - South Thames (development of markers of responsiveness to cholinergic therapy in patients with early Alzheimer's disease using functional magnetic resonance imaging); Professor S. Amiel, Pounds ,957 from Joint Research Committee (brain metabolism and function during hypoglycaemia); Drs H. Markus and P. Bath, Pounds 76,628 from NHS Executive - South Thames (the use of transcranial Doppler embolic signal monitoring in acute stroke); Professor R. Murray, Pounds 182,544 from NHS Executive - South Thames (premature babies grown-up: adult outcomes and its predictors); Professor M. Robb, Pounds 150,000 from the Higher Education Funding Council for England (development of excited state computation methods with applications to organic photochemistry).

Research grants Mrs A. Millett and Professor D. Johnson, Pounds 41,444 from the Economic and Social Research Council (Ofsted and primary maths: a critical analysis of policy and its interpretations); Professor D. Johnson and Dr M. Shayer, Pounds 33,997 from ESRC (cognitive acceleration in mathematics education: phase 2 (teachers)); Dr J. Murphy, Pounds 40,564 from the Medical Research Council (regulation of B cell apoptosis by the Berg36 zinc finger protein); Dr B. Sutton, Pounds 148,6 from the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (engineering of protein L for detection and prepartion of FAB and FV fragments); Dr H. Piggins, Pounds 184,959 from MRC (GRP-glutamate interaction in the entrainment of the circadian clock); Drs C. Coen, J. Powell and I. Campbell, Pounds 342,428 from BBSRC (characterisation and quantification of gene expression in the mammalian circadian clock); Dr P. Fraser, Pounds 60,958 from MRC (role of the endothelium in leucocyte diapedesis); Dr R. Brookes, Pounds 38,580 from MRC (variability in nuclear transport and its influence on the timing of DNA synthesis in mammalian nuclei); Professor J. Smith and Dr D. Malcolme-Lawes, Pounds 115,223 from the Engineering and Physical Science Research Council (nuclear quadruple resonance in analytical science); Dr A. Poulovassilis, Pounds 166,088 from EPSRC (formalisation and optimisation of active databases); Professor T. Clarkson, Pounds 21,268 from EPSRC (effects of space radiation on artificial neural networks); Professor A. Aghvami, Pounds 175,460 from EPSRC and Lucent Technologies (CDMA/TDMA air interfaces for third generation mobile communications); Professor H. Gospel, Pounds 50,487 from ESRC (development of human resources management: comparison of matched British, American, German, French and Japanese firms); Drs A. Michette and C. Buckley, Pounds 253,472 from EPSRC (laboratory scanning X-ray microscope); Dr J. Boyce, Pounds 123,847 from EPSRC (application of neural networks to the factor analysis of dynamic structures problem in nuclear medicine).

European funds Professor V. Moses, Ecus31,600 from the European Commission (education of biotechnology consumers); Professors F. Giraldez and M. Maden, Ecus32,400 from EC(TMR) (retinoic acid in ear development); Professor N. Holder, Ecus200,000 from the EC (TMR Network) (defining the region of neural competent tissue during gastrulation in invertebrate and vertebrate embryos); Dr M. Sanderson, Ecus221,000 from the EC (structural studies on the mechanism of DNA excision repair); Dr A. Drake, Ecus120,285 from the EC (novel combined online and kinetic measurement techniques for the chiral detection of compounds by optical spectroscopy); Professor M. Robb, Ecus 186,726 from the EC (TMR Network) (quantum chemistry of the excited state); Professor P. West, Ecus173,000 from the EC (integrability, non-perturbative effects and symmetry in quantum field theory); Dr P. Broussous and Professor C. Bushnell, Ecus91,224 from the EC (TMR Network) (representations of linear groups over p-adic division algebras).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments