March 14, 1997

University of Wales, Swansea.

Honorary fellowships for 1997: Neil Kinnock, European Union Commissioner for Transport; Ewart Alexander, dramatist; John Bridgeman, director-general of Fair Trading; Dianne Edwards, professor of botany at the University of Wales, Cardiff; Christopher Evans, biotechnologist and founder of Merlin Ventures; Emrys Evans, chairman of the university's council (1982-86), senior regional director, Wales, Midland Bank (1976-84); Michael Jenkins, technical manager (development) Pilkington United Kingdom Ltd and float development manager, Europe Pilkington Ltd; Rachel Lomax, permanent secretary to the Welsh Office; A. Vickers, managing director, British Steel Tinplate, Llanelli.

Winston Churchill Travelling Fellowship. The 1997 fellowship has been awarded to Peter McCaffery, dean of the school of European, international and social studies at Thames Valley University. The fellowship, awarded by the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, was made in the category of "Managing Change in the Workplace".

Loughborough University. John Forbes, Australian poet, has been appointed fellow in creative writing in the department of English and drama.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments