April 26, 1996


Fellowships have been awarded to: R. Rees Davies, Chichele professor in history at the University of Oxford and former professor of history at UCWA; Alun Davies, former student, former director of RTZ Ltd. and treasurer of UCWA (1980-91); Peter North, vice chancellor of Oxford University, former lecturer in law at UCWA; Michael Scholar, permanent secretary at the Welsh Office (1993-96); John Meurig Thomas, master of Peterhouse, Cambridge and professor of chemistry at the Royal Institute of Great Britain, professor of chemistry at UCWA (1969-78) and deputy pro-chancellor of the University of Wales (1991-94); Elinor Bennett Wigley, harpist and tutor, former student at UCWA.


Sir Derman Christopherson Foundation Fellowships: Professor David Cooper, philosophy; Professor Judith Howard, chemistry; Dr. Ranald Michie, history; and Professor Roger Searle, geological sciences.

Sir James Knott Foundation Fellowships: Dr Patricia Waugh, English; Bob Williams, politics.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments