University of Baltimore

1420 N. Charles St., Baltimore, Maryland, 21201, United States

About University of Baltimore

The University of Baltimore (UB) is a public university that forms part of the University System of Maryland. The system comprises 12 universities, two higher education institutes and one research centre.
In 1925 a group of Baltimore professionals began offering night classes for men and women in a house in the St Paul's neighbourhood. A little over a decade later this became a full-scale junior college. A library was added and several other local schools merged to form the current University of Baltimore. UB joined the University System of Maryland in 1988.
There are four academic divisions at UB: the Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Public Affairs, the Merrick School of Business and the School of Law. The university offers bachelor’s of arts and sciences, as well as a broad range of master’s degrees and several professional accreditations.
The university’s motto is “Knowledge that Works”.
UB is a major contributor to Maryland’s justice system. One third of the state’s court judges and one in five crime lab employees are UB alumni.
There are several community outreach initiatives run by the university. They include Divided Baltimore, a programme which invites members of the local community to seek solutions to inequality, and the School of Law Clinics, through which law students help low-income clients with their legal needs.
UB’s campus is located just minutes from Inner Harbour and close to public transport links around the city. Nearby Penn station provides transport links to other major cities including New York City, Philadelphia and Washington DC.