More about University of Aveiro

Located in northwest Portugal, the University of Aviero is one a research-led institution in Portugal, and is one of the country’s 14 public universities.

Founded in 1973, the university is now comprised of three campuses -  a main campus in Aveiro and two satellite campuses in the nearby towns of Agueda and Oliveira de Azemeis. The main Aveiro campus contains a number of buildings built by some of Portugal’s best-known architects, and among the various facilities on campus are a library, sports facilities and a gym, and a large residential building, home to over one thousand students.

There are 16 departments at the University of Aveiro as well as four polytechnic schools that provide vocational courses. Located around the Aveiro district, the polytechnic schools include: the Agueda School of Technology and Management, the Aveiro Institute of Accounting and Administration, the Health School, and the School of Design, Management and Production Technologies.

Among the University of Aveiro’s achievements are the creation of a search engine in 1995, known as SAPO, which is now an internet service provider. The university is also very competitive within the field of robotics and won the international RoboCup competition in 2008, a competition designed to promote robotics using a football-inspired format.

Every year the university holds a Research Day to celebrate the University of Aveiro’s research achievements and to encourage relationships between the university’s different schools and departments. Often guest speakers are invited to attend.

In the future, the University of Aveiro’s main aims are to increase its international reputation as a quality provider of teaching and research.

Key statistics

  • 10,641
    Number of Students
  • 17.7
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 9%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 51 : 49
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are


Campus Universitio de Santiago
3810-193 Aveiro