Swansea name change

November 16, 2007

Swansea Institute of Higher Education has applied to the Privy Council to change its name to Swansea Metropolitan University. The move is a result of changes to the constitution of the federal University of Wales. The University of Wales, Aberystwyth, the University of Wales, Bangor, and the University of Wales, Swansea, have already changed their names to Aberystwyth University, Bangor University and Swansea University respectively. The University of Wales College, Newport has dropped the word "College" from its name. All institutions are continuing to award University of Wales degrees.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments