2005 Descartes Research Prize: nominees announced

July 13, 2005

Brussels, 12 July 2005

The Descartes Grand Jury has announced the shortlist for the 2005 Descartes Research Prize for, outstanding scientific work carried out by a multinational team of researchers. These 14 projects will compete for a €1.15m scientific award. The winners of the 2005 award will be announced in London on 2 December.

The shortlist was chosen from 85 submissions – three times more than in 2004. The 14 projects are made up of 76 teams from 22 countries across Europe and also from countries such as US, Japan, Russia, Singapore and South Africa.

The Descartes Research Prize is awarded to teams of researchers who have achieved outstanding scientific and technological results through collaborative research. The prize is open to teams from all fields of scientific endeavour. The prize is awarded by the European Commission as part of its programme to increase contact between science and society.

The shortlist is comprised of the following projects:


  • the “PULSE” project
headed by Prof. Andrew Lyne at the University of Manchester, Jodrell Bank Observatory, United Kingdom
  • the “Turing” project
coordinated by Dr Patrick DeKepper from the Centre de Recherche Paul Pascal in France and Dr. Pierre Borckmans of the Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
  • the “EXEL” project
coordinated by Prof. Costas Soukoulis from the Foundation for Research and Technology in Hellas, Greece
  • the “Hidemar” project
coordinated by Dr Dino Fioriani of Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerca in Italy
  • the “HESS” project
headed by Prof. Stavros Katsanevas at Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique

Life sciences:

  • the “PITCID” project
coordinated by Prof. Matthias P. Wymann of the University of Basel in Switzerland
  • the “Cancergenes” project
coordinated by Prof. Ian Tomlinson of the London Research Institute, Cancer Research UK and Prof. Lauri Antti Aaltonen of UH.MCB in Finland
  • the “Pathfinder” project
headed by Prof. Jan-Ã…ke Gustafsson of Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
  • the “EURO-PID” project
coordinated by Prof. Alain Fischer of I.N.S.E.R.M., France

Socio-economic sciences:

  • the “ESS” project
headed by Prof. Roger Jowell of City University in the United Kingdom
  • the “IDEE” project
co-coordinated by Prof. Robert Frank of UMR IRICE in France

Earth sciences:

  • the “CECA” project
coordinated by Prof. Ola M. Johannessen from Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Center in Norway


  • the “Tannin Adhesives” project
headed by Prof. Antonio Pizzi from ENSTIB in France

Information sciences:

  • the “GRAB” project
led by Ms. Teresa Gutierrez with Fundación Labein in Spain

The nominated projects will now be evaluated by the Descartes Grand Jury, comprised of renowned personalities from various academic disciplines, industrial and public life and is chaired by Prof. Ene Ergma, Vice-president of the Estonian Academy of Sciences and Chairperson of the Estonian Parliament. Following the evaluation, five finalists will be chosen and a maximum of five winners will be awarded the Descartes Research Prize.

A second prize for Communication will be awarded at the ceremony on 2 December, with winners chosen from the 63 submissions received in this category.

For more information, visit: http://europa.eu.int/co mm/research/descartes/index_en.htm

See also MEMO/05/252 .

Item source: IP/05/914 Date: 12/07/2005 Previous Item Back to Titles Print Item

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments