Weatherhead School of Management

Case Western Reserve Universit, 11119 Bellflower Road, Cleveland, Ohio, 44106, United States

About Weatherhead School of Management

The Weatherhead School of Management is a private business school of Case Western Reserve University located in Cleveland, Ohio.

The school started its life as The School of Business in 1952 after the amalgamation of the Cleveland College Division of Business Administration and the Graduate School Division of Business Administration. Further mergers followed and the school launched its first full-time MBA in 1976, four years before the school was renamed after donor and Cleveland businessman Albert J. Weatherhead III. Further expansion followed, culminating in 2002, with the opening of the Frank Gehry-designed Peter B. Lewis Building.

The School of Management enrolls about 1,600 students annually and offers courses across accounting, business management, economics, entrepreneurship, finance, international business, leadership, marketing and supply chain management.

Undergraduates can take majors in accounting, business management, economics, finance, marketing. Among other packages, there are four integrated master's options.

In terms of graduate courses themselves, Weatherhead offers an MBA, full and part-time, an Executive MBA and the Cleveland Clinic-Weatherhead Executive MBA that is health care-focused.

Speciality master's offered are: accountancy, finance, business analytics, health care; operations research and supply chain; positive organisation development and change and a master of engineering and management.

There are a number of doctoral options available including the doctor of management; PhD in management – accountancy; PhD in management - designing sustainable systems; PhD in management - design and innovation and PhD in organisational behaviour.

Among an active research scene, Weatherhead has three dedicated centres: The philanthropic Fowler Center for Business exists to "advance the scholarship and practice of flourishing enterprise" and counts Coca Cola and Toyota among its partners, while the Cuyahoga County Youth Work Institute and The Coaching Research Laboratory supports skills development in the workplace across the ages.

Notable alumni include: Edward C. Prescott, 2004 Nobel Laureate in Economics; Subir Gokarn, Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank of India; Donald E. Washkewicz, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Parker Hannifin Corporation; David Daberko, former National City Corp. Chairman and CEO; Robert W. Gillespie, Jr., former Chairman & CEO of Key Corp; Mark Weinberger, Global Chairman & CEO of EY(Ernst & Young); John C. Dannemiller, former Chairman, CEO & President of Applied Industrial Technologies; William G. Bares, former Chairman of Lubrizol Corporation and Michael McCaskey, Chairman of the Board of the Chicago Bears.