Lecturers' pay team to meet

二月 20, 1998

AN ADMIRAL, a businesswoman and a local authority chief executive will be among members of the new Independent Review Committee deciding future approaches to lecturers' pay.

Full membership of the committee, which sits for the first time next Thursday, was announced this week.

Employer nominations are: Peter Humphreys, chief executive of the University and Colleges Employers Association; Derek Fraser, vice-chancellor and chief executive of the University of Teesside; John Rea, principal of University College of St Mark and St John and a member of the council of management of the Standing Conference of Principals; Richard Shaw, principal and vice-chancellor of the University of Paisley and convenor of the committee of Scottish Higher Education Principals and Philip Love, vice-chancellor of Liverpool University and chairman of UCEA.

Trade union nominations are: Tom Wilson, assistant general secretary of the Association of University Teachers; Liz Allen, head of higher education at the National Association of Teachers in Further and Higher Education; Elaine Harrison, head of higher education at public sector union Unison and Paul Talbot, national officer of the Manufacturing Science Finance Union. One trade union nomination is still to be announced.

Admiral Sir John Kerr, who served on the Armed Forces Manpower Review; Sheila Forbes, chair of governors at Thames Valley University, a non-executive director of Lloyds TSB group and civil service commissioner; Nigel Horne, special adviser to KPMG and chairman of Alcatel UK; and David Henshaw, chief executive of Knowsley Metropolitan Borough, will be independent members of the committee, appointed by UCEA.

Leif Mills, former general secretary of the Banking, Insurance and Finance Union and former president of the Trades Union Congress is the TUC nomination.

Peter Thorpe has been seconded to head the secretariat from the Department for Education and Employment, which also helped UCEA to select the chairman, head of civil service commissioners Sir Michael Bett.

The committee will operate from the Office of Manpower Economics in London's Oxford Street.



  • 注册是免费的,而且十分便捷
  • 注册成功后,您每月可免费阅读3篇文章
  • 订阅我们的邮件
Please 登录 or 注册 to read this article.