British Academy announces 42 new fellows

More than 40 academics have been newly elected as fellows of the British Academy

July 18, 2014

The accolade recognises outstanding research in the humanities and social sciences. The 42 new fellows come from 19 universities.

The president of the British Academy, Lord Stern of Brentford, said: “Our fellows are elected from across the UK for their distinction in the humanities and social sciences. Together they represent an unrivalled reserve of expertise and knowledge.”

He added: “They play a vital role in the work of the Academy, encouraging younger researchers, engaging in public discussion of the great issues and ideas of our and other times, contributing to policy reports and publications, and helping to select researchers and research projects for funding support.”

A further 15 corresponding fellows, from overseas universities, have also been elected, as have two honorary fellows, a journalist and a civil servant.

New fellows

Roger Backhouse, professor of the history and philosophy of economics, University of Birmingham; part-time Erasmus, University of Rotterdam

Richard Bentall, professor of clinical psychology, University of Liverpool

Francesco Billari, professor of sociology and demography, University of Oxford; fellow, Nuffield College, Oxford

Susanne Bobzien, professor of philosophy, University of Oxford; senior research fellow, All Souls College

Georgina Born, professor of music and anthropology, University of Oxford; fellow, Mansfield College, Oxford; Bloch visiting professor of music, University of California, Berkeley

Joanna Bourke, professor of history, Birkbeck, University of London

Margaret Brazier OBE, professor of law, University of Manchester

Susan Brigden, Langford fellow and tutor in history, Lincoln College, Oxford; reader in history, University of Oxford

Peter Buckley OBE, professor of international business, University of Leeds; Cheung Kong scholar chair professor, University of International Business and Economics, Beijing

Matthew Collins, professor of biomolecular archaeology, University of York

David Crouch, professor of medieval history, University of Hull

John Curtice, professor of politics, University of Strathclyde

Sarah Curtis, professor of health and risk and executive director, Institute of Hazard, Risk and Resilience, Durham University

David Denison, Smith professor of English language and medieval literature, University of Manchester

Ingrid De Smet, professor of French and neo-Latin studies, University of Warwick

Eleanor Dickey, professor of Classics, University of Reading

Katrin Flikschuh, professor of modern political theory, London School of Economics

Gavin Flood, professor of Hindu studies and comparative religion, University of Oxford; academic director, Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies

Marina Frolova-Walker, professor of music history, Faculty of Music, University of Cambridge; fellow, Clare College, Cambridge

Anne Fuchs, professor of German studies, University of Warwick

Tamar Garb, Durning Lawrence professor in the history of art, University College London

Susan Gathercole, Medical Research Council research professor, University of Cambridge; director, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge

Paul Gilroy, professor of American and English literature, King’s College London

Patrick Haggard, professor of cognitive neuroscience, University College London

Stephen Halliwell FRSE, professor of Greek, University of St Andrews

Francesca Happé, professor of cognitive neuroscience, director and head of department, MRC Social, Genetic and Developmental Psychiatry Centre, Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London

Henrietta Harrison, professor of modern Chinese studies, University of Oxford

Jeremy Horder, professor of criminal law, London School of Economics

Matthew Kramer, professor of legal and political philosophy, University of Cambridge; fellow, Churchill College, Cambridge

Neil Lazarus, professor of English and comparative literary studies, University of Warwick

Rae Langton, professor of philosophy, University of Cambridge; fellow, Newnham College, Cambridge

Judith Lieu, Lady Margaret’s professor of divinity, University of Cambridge; fellow, Robinson College, Cambridge

Christian List, professor of political science and philosophy, London School of Economics

Jane Millar OBE, professor of social policy and pro vice-chancellor (research), University of Bath

Ann Phoenix, professor of education, Institute of Education, University of London

Carol Propper CBE, professor of economics, Imperial College Business School; professor of economics of public policy, University of Bristol

Tony Prosser, professor of public law, University of Bristol Law School; visiting professor, College of Europe, Bruges

Charlotte Roberts, professor of archaeology, Durham University

Stephen Smith, senior research fellow, All Souls College, Oxford; professor of history, University of Oxford; honorary research professor, department of history, University of Essex

Cecilia Trifogli, professor of medieval philosophy, University of Oxford; fellow, All Souls College, Oxford

Dimitri Vayanos, professor of finance, London School of Economics

Sarah Whatmore, professor of environment and public policy, University of Oxford; fellow, Keble College, Oxford

Corresponding fellows

Svetlana Alpers, professor emerita of art history, University of California, Berkeley

Trevor Barnes, professor of geography, University of British Columbia

Gian Biagio Conte, professor of Latin literature emeritus, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa

Janet Dean Fodor, distinguished professor of linguistics, City University of New York

Naomi Ellemers, professor of social and organisational psychology, Leiden University

James Hankins, professor of history, Harvard University

Lynn Hunt, distinguished research professor, University of California, Los Angeles

Martti Koskenniemi, professor of international law, University of Helsinki; director, the Erik Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights

Henri Leridon, directeur de recherche emeritus, Institut National d’Etudes Démographiques, Paris

Jane Mansbridge, Adams professor of political leadership and democratic values, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Charles Manski, board of trustees professor in economics, and fellow, Institute for Policy Research, Northwestern University

Claudia Märtl, professor of medieval history, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Jürgen Osterhammel, professor of modern history, University of Konstanz

Michael Posner, professor of psychology emeritus, University of Oregon; adjunct professor, Weill Medical College, New York

Yutaka Yoshida, professor of central Asian studies, Kyoto University

Honorary fellows

Dame Liz Forgan DBE, deputy chair, British Museum; chair, Scott Trust; chair, National Youth Orchestra; trustee, Art Fund

Lord O’Donnell GCB, chairman, Frontier Economics; strategic adviser, TD Bank; non-executive director, Brookfield Asset Management; visiting professor, London School of Economics and University College London; trustee, The Economist

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.