Birmingham City University

University House, 15 Bartholomew Row, Birmingham, West Midlands, B5 5JU, United Kingdom

Computer Networks

Our MSci Computer Networks course delivers the latest in computing, network, and cloud and server technologies, backed up by the opportunity to gain additional accreditation from Microsoft, Cisco Systems and the Linux Professional Institute. Our approach prioritises the practical skills sought by industry, backing this up with a thorough understanding of theory. You’ll be based in Millennium Point at our City Centre Campus. In 2017, we are spending £8.7 million on improvements to our facilities so you’ll have even more access to dedicated, industry-standard equipment. Our course has a 95 per cent student satisfaction rating (National Student Survey, 2016), displaying the quality and clarity of our teaching. We are home to a Cisco Systems and a Microsoft Academy Centre – one of Microsoft’s top UK university-based academies – and we are a member of the Microsoft Developer Network Academic Alliance. We are also a Cisco ASC (Academy Support Centre) and Cisco Instructor Training Centre (ITC) – one of only 10 such instructor training centres in the UK. Our course has accreditation from the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), which demonstrates that it meets the educational criteria needed for Incorporated Engineer (IEng) status. All accreditations will be renewed in accordance with the accreditor’s standard review process and subject to the University maintaining the same high standards of course delivery. Choosing to study the MSci integrated Master’s degree programme will enable you to stand out from the crowd on graduation with a Master’s level qualification. You will also undertake a final year project which will help you to develop advanced technical and professional skills.

  • Qualification
    Master of Science (with Honours) - Msci (Hon)
  • Study mode
  • Duration
    4 years
  • Start date
  • Location
    Millennium Point Campus,Birmingham
  • Fees & Finances
  • EU Year 1 £9,250
  • England Year 1 £9,250
  • Northern Ireland Year 1 £9,250
  • Scotland Year 1 £9,250
  • Wales Year 1 £9,250