The Faculty of Law is a proud faculty with a reputation for academic excellence. Although the Faculty is relatively small, its accredited research output annually ranks among the highest in the country. Faculty members are continually involved in the writing, updating and editing of law books, in addition to the publication of various articles in law journals and papers at international conferences, for which they are responsible. The Faculty also edits the Journal of South African Law (TSAR), which has been published since 1976.

The Faculty annually awards the degrees BA (Law), BCom (Law), LLB, LLM and LLD. In addition to these degrees, the Faculty has a strong division for continuing education programmes that offers postgraduate and undergraduate diplomas, certificates and short
programmes in specialised areas such as Tax Law, International Tax, Drafting and Interpretation of Contracts, Corporate Law, Criminal Justice and Forensic Investigation, Compliance, Money Laundering Control,Compliance Management, Board  Governance, Legislative Drafting, Labour Law and Paralegal Studies. The Faculty of Law also has various research institutes and centres that are involved in new legislation and legal
development. Students at the Faculty’s three law clinics
on the Witwatersrand and Soweto offer free legal advice
to members of the public. 

A law degree offers many exciting and challenging career opportunities. The Faculty of Law’s students are highly sought after in the legal and commercial worlds, and form part of a rich tradition and of a student body which is proud of its ties with a Faculty of excellence.

Disclaimer: Due to limited space, fulfilling all the minimum entry requirements does not guarantee acceptance into a programme.