Engineering and the Built Environment

The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment (FEBE) is one of eight faculties* at the University of Johannesburg, home to five schools, 12 departments and two technology stations. It offers both Engineering Technology and Engineering Science undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. In keeping with the University’s comprehensive status, the Faculty is the first in South Africa to offer global education to a full range of professional engineering qualifications. 

FEBE remains a leading provider of well-qualified and accredited engineers, technologists and technicians. Over the years, the Faculty has established strategic partnerships within the international higher education landscape and with key industry stakeholders. Operating within the dynamic and competitive
higher education landscape, FEBE is innovative in its approach to teaching, learning, collaborative research, community engagement, international partnerships and remains at the cutting edge of technology. It is focused on the promotion of reflective and critical thinking, novel ways of problem-solving
and believes in environmentally sustainable solutions.

Engineering broadly focuses on the creative application of scientific and technical knowledge to design, analyse, develop structures, machines, manufacturing processes, construction of works/systems for practical purposes or maximizing operations.
An Engineer is one that analyses and innovates, while the Technologist will implement and develop and the Technician will
install, commission, maintain and operate. Courses within the Faculty are best suited for learners who are creative thinkers, possess an inventive imagination with an aptitude for mathematics, science and technology, learners who enjoy
discovering how things work and solving problems with logic and reason.

The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment is supported by the following Accreditation Bodies:

  • Engineering and Engineering Technology Programmes the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA) 
  • Town and Regional Planning: South African Council for Planners (SACPLAN)
  • Mine Surveying: South African Council for Professional and Technical Surveyors (PLATO) 
  • Construction Management: South African Council for Project and Construction Management Professions (SACPCMP) & South African Council for the Quantity Surveying Profession (SACQSP)
  • Quality and Operations Management Programmes are not subject to accreditation by professional bodies.

Accreditation agencies generally align to international accords and in this way programmes listed by FEBE receive recognition internationally. ECSA is a signatory of the Dublin, Sydney and Washington Accord which provides international recognition
for the Faculty’s BEng and BEng Tech. Curricula are specifically designed, taking into consideration the National Skills Development Plan, industry needs, surrounding communities, government, economy and international bodies. Programmes are subject to accreditation visits and quality assurance.