Faculty of Science and Health

The Faculty of Science and Health is a large and diverse faculty with an international reputation for excellence in scientific innovation and health transformation.  The Faculty comprises six schools: School of Health and Human Performance, School of Chemical Sciences, School of Biotechnology, School of Nursing and Human Sciences, School of Physical Sciences, School of Mathematical Sciences. The Faculty has a range of research groups and centres and four national research centres:

            1. National Centre for Plasma, Science and Technology (NCPST)

            2. National Centre for Sensor Research (NCSR)

            3. National Institute for Cellular Biotechnology (NICB)

            4. National Nano-Bioanalytical Research Facility (NRB)

dcu minisite

The Faculty is also home to two international research centres: the Fraunhofer Project Centre (FPC@DCU) and the International Centre for Neuro-therapeutics (ICNT), as well as the Centre for the Advancement of STEM Teaching and Learning (CASTeL) and the Water Institute. Together the schools and Centres provide a unique set of synergies to advance education and research in science and health and to support DCU to pursue its goals to transform lives and society.

dcu minisite

The Faculty is responsible for 38 undergraduate and postgraduate taught programmes, 2724 undergraduate students, 126 taught graduate students, 217 postgraduate research students, 121 post-doctoral researchers and research staff, 171 academics and 48 administrative staff. The Faculty has strong links to industry and also works closely with a range of community, health, and education organisations within the local community.

DCU Faculty of Science and Health

dcu minisite