Chongqing University

Vision and Mission

Chongqing University, established in 1929, aims to be a “well-equipped and influential institution”.

Sagamore Camp with red trim

Description automatically generated​​

About CQU

Chongqing University (CQU), founded in 1929, is a national key university directly under the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China. It is a high-level, research-oriented comprehensive university within the frameworks of the State 211 Project and 985 Project, and the National “World-Class University” Initiative (Category A). Located in Chongqing Municipality, an economic and industrial center in southwestern China on the upper reach of the Yangtze River, CQU boasts a full range of disciplines.

The university encompasses 35 schools, 12 categories, 7 faculties, and 8 affiliated hospitals. Chongqing University is especially renowned in the fields of Built Environment, Engineering, Technology, and Business. Currently, it has 22 state key subjects, 14 key subjects under the State 211 Project, and 38 provincial or ministerial key subjects. The university also features 11 national key labs, 8 ministerial key labs, and 180 provincial key labs in various specialties.

Chongqing University is home to 50,000 students, including 26,000 undergraduates, 22,240 graduates, and over 1,700 international students from 129 countries. The university employs 5,300 faculty and staff members, including 5 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 10 members of the Subject Appraisal Team of the Degree Committee under the State Council, 4 chief scientists of the National 973 Project, 5 state-level middle-aged or young experts with distinguished contributions to their fields, over 600 doctorate supervisors, and 2,900 professors and associate professors.

Discover CQU
For more information, visit