Honorary Degrees

August 2, 1996

UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK. DLitt: David Brierly, general manager Royal Shakespeare Theatre, member of the Arts Council of Great Britain, governor of Stratford College; Averil Cameron, warden of Keble College, Oxford, former professor of late antique and Byzantine studies and director of the centre for Hellenic Studies at Kings College London; Peter Donohoe, pianist, winner of the International Tchaikovsky competition in 1982 and the Concerto Recording Award in 1988.

DSc: Alec Broers, master of Churchill College and head of the department of engineering at Cambridge, winner of the prize for Industrial Applications of Physics awarded by the American Institute of Physics; Tarun Das, director general of the Confederation of Indian Industry; LLD: Chris Agyris, James Bryant Connat professor of education in organisational behaviour, Harvard University; Lynda Chalker, minister for overseas development and minister for Africa and the Commonwealth; Frank Field, MP for Birkenhead, chairman of the select committee on social security, former director of the low pay unit; Paul Girolami., chairman of Glaxo Holdings (1985-94), director of Forte plc and UIS, France and chairman of council for Goldsmiths College London; Muhammad Yunus, economist and founder and managing director of Grameen Bank; Nelson Mandela, president of South Africa.

UNIVERSITY OF BRADFORD. DLitt: Bill Mitchell, writer, journalist, former editor of The Dalesman; Marie Walker Last, painter; Diana Collins, activist with Christian Action, the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament and the International Defence and Aid Fund for South Africa; Jude Kelly, former artistic director, now chief executive of West Yorkshire Playhouse.

DSc: Wilfred Cockroft, chairman of educational project resources, formerly G. F. Grant professor of pure mathematics at the University of Hull, vice chancellor of the New University of Ulster (1976-1982), current member of the Royal Society's education committee and maths curriculum sub-committee; Richard Brook, chief executive of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, Cookson professor of materials science, professorial fellow, St Cross College, Oxford and honorary professor at the University of Stuttgart; Herbert Stiefel, president of Stiefel International.

DUniv: Nina Lowe, clinical physiotherapist, chief executive of Bradford and Airedale College of Health; Mike Firth, chairman and chief executive of Yorkshire Food Group plc; Jack Cairns, emeritus professor and former pro vice chancellor of the university, engineering metallurgist and industrialist; Arnold Loxam, organist and broadcaster.

BATH COLLEGE OF HIGHER EDUCATION. MA: Louise O'Connor, descendant of Irish pioneer settler in Texas and researcher into Mexican and African-American cowboys in the ranching culture of Southern Texas.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further information see Netgazette on http//thesis.co.uk.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented

Recent controversy over the future directions of both Stanford and Melbourne university presses have raised questions about the role of in-house publishing arms in a world of commercialisation, impact agendas, alternative facts – and ever-diminishing monograph sales. Anna McKie reports

3 October


Featured jobs

Senior Lecturer in Law

University Of The West Of England (uwe)

Lecturer in Marketing

Edinburgh Napier University

Resource Planner

Bpp University